top of page

An Alternative Way of Reading the 10 Commandments



Before God introduced His Ten Commandments to Moses and the Israelites, He first introduced Himself: “I am the Lord your God who took you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of bondage” (Exodus 20:2). This introduction establishes a clear relationship between God and His people, and what God had already done for them: He had freed them from bondage already!


We often think of God's salvation coming after we follow God's instructions. Yet God has already carried out His salvation plan. As Jesus said on the cross, "It is finished."


The commandments are about how to live a life free of bondage. But how often do we view the Ten Commandments as 'Ten Restrictions'? Can them be actually 'Ten Liberation'?


You don't need false gods, because you have the real one. You don't need to create other images, because you are created in my image. You don't need to take my name in vain, because you can ask anything in my name. You don't need to let work define your life, because you can find rest in me. You can appreciate your father and mother, because you are always my child. You don't need to kill, because vengance is mine, I will repay. You don't need to commit adultery, because relationships and sex are best enjoyed in my plan. You don't need to steal, because I will provide. You don't need to bear false witness, because the truth shall set you free. You don't need to covet, because I know all your needs before you ask.

bottom of page